ASC Awards: 1917 Takes Top Prize: Fifth time triumph for Deakins

Jan 27, 2020

The Theatrical Award for best cinematography in a motion picture went to Roger Deakins CBE BSC ASC for 1917 at the 34th American Society of Cinematographers Outstanding Achievement Awards. Jarin Blaschke took the Spotlight Award for The Lighthouse and Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma won the inaugural Documentary Award for Honeyland. In the TV categories, winners included Colin Watkinson ASC BSC for The Handmaid’s Tale; John Conroy ISC for The Terror: Infamy; and C. Kim Miles CSC MySC for Project Blue Book. TCM’s Ben Mankiewicz hosted the awards gala, which was held at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland.

Roger Deakins’ work on 1917 is adorns the cover of our January 2020 edition, while you can read about Jarin Blaschke’s input on The Lighthouse in our November 2019 edition interview.

Below is the complete list of winners and nominees:

Theatrical Release Category – presented by Diane Lane

Roger Deakins CBE BSC ASC – 1917 — WINNER
Phedon Papamichael ASC GSC – Ford v Ferrari
Rodrigo Prieto ASC AMC – The Irishman
Robert Richardson ASC – Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Lawrence Sher ASC – Joker


Spotlight Award Category – presented by Bartosz Bielenia

Jarin Blaschke – The Lighthouse – WINNER
Natasha Braier ASC ADF – Honey Boy
Jasper Wolf NSC – Monos

Jarin Blaschke at the 34th ASC Awards

Documentary Category – presented by Todd Phillips

Fejmi Daut and Samir Ljuma – Honeyland – WINNER
Nicholas de Pencier – Anthropocene: The Human Epoch
Evangelia Kranioti – Obscuro Barroco

Episode of a Series for Non-Commercial Television – presented by Emily Deschanel

David Luther – Das Boot, Gegen die Zeit (episode 6)
M. David Mullen ASC – The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, Simone
Chris Seager BSC – Carnival Row, Grieve No More
Brendan Steacy CSC – Titans, Dick Grayson
Colin Watkinson ASC BSC – The Handmaid’s Tale, Night – WINNER

Colin Watkinson ASC BSC at the 34th ASC Awards


Episode of a Series for Commercial Television – presented by Jane Lynch

Dana Gonzales ASC – Legion, Chapter 20
C. Kim Miles CSC MySC – Project Blue Book, The Flatwoods Monster – WINNER
Polly Morgan ASC BSC – Legion, Chapter 23
Peter Robertson ISC – Vikings, Hell
David Stockton ASC – Gotham, Ace Chemicals

Motion Picture, Miniseries, or Pilot Made for Television – presented by Michael McKean

John Conroy ISC – The Terror: Infamy, A Sparrow in a Swallow’s Nest – WINNER
P.J. Dillon ISC – The Rook, Chapter 1
Chris Manley ASC – Doom Patrol, pilot
Martin Ruhe ASC – Catch-22, Episode 5
Craig Wrobleski CSC – The Twilight Zone, Blurryman

With the exception of Deakins, all of the awards were handed out to first-time winners. Deakins collected the top honor last year for Blade Runner 2049 and previously for Skyfall, The Man Who Wasn’t There, and The Shawshank Redemption.

Honorary awards were also presented, including:

The ASC Board of Governors Award was given to Werner Herzog by Paul Holdengräber, interviewer-curator-writer and executive director of the Onassis Foundation. The award recognizes Herzog’s significant and indelible contributions to cinema. It is the only ASC Award not given to a cinematographer and is reserved for filmmakers who have been champions of the visual art form.

The ASC Lifetime Achievement Award was presented to Frederick Elmes ASC by writer-director Lisa Cholodenko. The duo collaborated on the Emmy-winning Olive Kittridge.

Fred Elmes ASC with writer-director Lisa Cholodenko at the 34th ASC Awards

The ASC Career Achievement in Television Award was handed out to Donald A. Morgan ASC by actor Tim Allen. The two work together on the award-winning Last Man Standing, and previously collaborated on Home Improvement.

The International Award was bestowed upon Bruno Delbonnel ASC AFC by writer-director Joel Coen. The duo has joined forces on several films, including the Oscar-nominated Inside Llewyn Davis and The Ballad of Buster Scruggs.

Bruno Delbonnel ASC AFC at the 34th ASC Awards

This year’s President’s Award went to Don McCuaig ASC. It was given to him by longtime friend and actor-stuntman Mickey Gilbert.

The ASC Bud Stone Award of Distinction was given to Kim Snyder, president and CEO of Panavision. This award is presented to an ASC Associate Member who has demonstrated extraordinary service to the society and/or has made a significant contribution to the motion-picture industry.

Related Posts

Related Articles

Latest Videos

Loading RSS Feed