Deakins and 1917 add BAFTA prize to ASC accolade

Feb 3, 2020

1917 walked away with the most awards at this year’s EE British Academy Film Awards with seven, and it was DP Roger Deakins CBE BSC ASC who took the award for ‘Best Cinematography’.

He is now the most decorated BAFTA winner in the Cinematography category with five wins, with Emmanuel ‘Chivo’ Lubezki AMC ASC and Geoffrey Unsworth OBE BSC.

Deakins, who also won at the recent 34th ASC Awards, edged out Phedon Papamichael ASC GSC for Ford v Ferrari, Rodrigo Prieto ASC AMC for The Irishman, Jarin Blaschke for The Lighthouse and Lawrence Sher ASC’s Joker for the ‘Cinematography’ gong at the awards ceremony held Sunday 2 February 2020.

You can read all about Deakins’ successful work on 1917 as British Cinematographer’s cover feature in the January 2020 edition.

See Deakins picking up his ‘Cinematography’ BAFTA below…

Related Posts

Related Articles

Latest Videos

Loading RSS Feed