Golden Lion awarded to the Robbie Ryan BSC ISC shot Poor Things

Sep 11, 2023

The 80th Venice Film Festival handed out its awards and Yorgos Lanthimos has clinched the top prize with his latest feature Poor Things, shot by Robbie Ryan BSC ISC.

The Greek filmmaker’s latest feature is based on Alasdair Gray’s 1992 novel of the same name and follows Emma Stone as Bella Baxter, a creation of the brilliant and unorthodox scientist played by Dafoe in an echo of Mary Shelley’s classic horror novel Frankenstein. Mark Ruffalo plays a slick and debauched lawyer.

Dedicating the award to his lead actress, Lanthimos said Poor Things wouldn’t exist “without Emma Stone.”

“This film is her in front and behind the camera,” he added.

Elsewhere, Japanese filmmaker Ryusuke Hamaguchi took the Grand Jury Prize with Evil Does Not Exist, his follow-up to Drive My CarPriscilla breakout Cailee Spaeny took the Best Actress prize for her performance in Sofia Coppola’s biopic while Best Actor went to Peter Sarsgaard for Memory, by Michel Franco.

Golden Lion
Poor Things, Yorgos Lanthimos

Silver Lion Grand Jury Prize
Evil Does Not Exist, Ryusuke Hamaguchi

Silver Lion Best Director
Matteo Garrone, Io Capitano

Special Jury Prize
Green Border, Agnieszka Holland

Best Screenplay
Pablo Larrain and Guillermo Calderón, El Conde

Best Actress
Cailee Spaeny, Priscilla

Best Actor
Peter Sarsgaard, Memory

Marcello Mastroianni Award for Best New Young Actor or Actress
Seydou Sarr, Io Capitano


Best Film
Explanation For Everything, Gábor Reisz

Best Director
Mika Gustafson, Paradise Is Burning

Special Jury Prize
Una Sterminata Domenica, Alain Parroni

Best Actress
Margarita Rosa De Francisco, El Paraiso

Best Actor
Tergel Bold-Erdene, City of Wind

Best Screenplay
El Paraiso, Enrico Maria Artale

Best Short Film
A Short Trip, Erenik Beqiri

Lion of the Future – Luigi De Laurentiis Award for a Debut Film
Love Is A Gun, Lee Hong-Chi


Audience Award
FELICITÀ (HAPPINESS), Micaela Ramazzotti


Best Documentary
Thank You Very Much, Alex Braverman

Best Restored Film


Grand Jury Prize
Songs For A Passerby, Celine Daemen

Special Jury Prize
Flow, Adriaan Lokman

Immersive Achievement Prize
Emperor, Marion Burger, Ilan Cohen

Related Posts

Related Articles

Latest Videos

Loading RSS Feed