International Cinematographers Guild elects Baird B. Steptoe Sr. as new national president

May 16, 2022

The International Cinematographers Guild (IATSE Local 600) has released the preliminary results of its national elections.

The 9,000+ member union has elected 1st camera assistant Baird B. Steptoe Sr., to a three-year term as national president, it was announced by Peter Hawkins, chair of the guild’s election committee. Steptoe currently serves as second national vice president and has been a long-time member of Local 600’s national executive board.

The Local 600 Election results are not final until the election committee’s report has been reviewed and accepted by the national executive board at its next meeting to be held on June 18-19.

The independent company hired to conduct the electronic election reported that based on the tentative results, approximately 32.4% of eligible voters cast a ballot. The tentative vote tally results for the office of president were Baird B. Steptoe Jr. 1,106, Jamie Silverstein 909, Diane Farrington 416 and Casey Shaw 121 votes.

The membership also elected Chris Silano as national vice president based in the New York City Area, Deborah Lipman as first national vice president based in the Central Region, and Mark Weingartner as second national vice president based in Southern California. In addition, incumbent Stephen Wong was re-elected national secretary-treasurer also based in Los Angeles. Patrick Quinn was elected national assistant secretary-treasurer based in New York and Betsy Peoples was elected national sergeant-at-arms based in the Central Region.

Elections were also held for Financial Trustees, the National Executive Board and Delegates to the IATSE International and District Conventions.

“The Election Committee wishes to thank the Local 600 members who ran for offices and the enthusiastic voters of Local 600 who exercised their right to elect the future leaders of this union,” said Peter Hawkins, chair of the Local’s election committee. “Voting is the most basic, powerful and hard-earned right each member has. Congratulations and much success to all elected.”

Related Posts

Related Articles

Latest Videos

Loading RSS Feed