The Winners at the 71st Cannes Film Festival

May 19, 2018

The curtain has come down on the 71st Festival de Cannes, which for the last 12 days has featured artists and films from all four corners of the globe. On stage at the Grand Théâtre Lumière, the Master of Ceremonies, Edouard Baer, welcomed the Feature Films Jury presided over by Cate Blanchett, for the announcement of the 2018 winners.

The event culminated on the Red Carpet, where the prizewinners and jury were treated to a live musical surprise by Sting and Shaggy!

Read on to find out all the award winners…

Hirokazu Kore Eda receives the Palme d’Or for Shoplifters from Cate Blanchett. © Alberto Pizzoli/AFP

Feature Films

Palme D’Or (awarded by Cate Blanchett): Shoplifters directed by Hirokazu Kore-eda
Grand Prix (awarded by Benicio Del Toro and Chang Chen): BlacKkKlansman directed by Spike Lee
Jury Prize (awarded by Gary Oldman and Léa Seydoux): Capernaum directed by Nadine Labaki
Best Performance by an Actor (awarded by Khadja Nin and Roberto Benigni): Marcello FonteDogman
Best Director (awarded by Abderrahmane Sissako, Kristen Stewart and Denis Villeneuve): Pawel PawlikowskiCold War
Best Screenplay (awarded by Robert Guédiguian and Chiara Mastroianni): Alice RohrwacherHappy as Lazzaro AND Jafar Panahi3 Faces
Best Performance by an Actress (awarded by Ava Duvernay and Asia Argento): Samal YeslyamovaAyka
Special Palme D’Or: Jean-Luc GodardImage Book


Short Films Palme D’Or: Charles WilliamsAll These Creatures
Short Films Special Distinction by the Jury: Wei ShujunOn The Border
Camera d’Or: Lukas DhontGirl
Golden Eye Documentary Prize: TBA
Ecumenical Jury Prize: Nadine LabakiCapernaum
Ecumenical Jury Special Mention: Spike LeeBlacKkKlansman
Queer Palm: Lukas DhontGirl

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard Award: Ali AbbasiBorder
Best Director: Sergei LoznitsaDonbass
Best Performance: Victor PolsterGirl
Best Screenplay: Meryem Benm’BarekSofia
Special Jury Prize: João Salaviza & Renée Nader MessoraThe Dead and the Others

Directors’ Fortnight

Art Cinema Award: Gaspar NoéClimax
Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: Pierre SalvadoriThe Trouble With You
Europa Cinemas Label: Gianni ZanasiLucia’s Grace
Illy Short Film Award: Patrick Bresnan & Ivete LucasSkip Day

Critics’ Week

Grand Prize: Gabriel Abrantes & Daniel SchmidtDiamantino
Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: Benedikt ErlingssonWoman at War
GAN Foundation Award for Distribution: Sir
Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award: Felix MaritaudSauvage
Short Film: Jacqueline LentzouHector Malot – The Last Day Of The Year


Competition: Lee Chang-dongBurning
Un Certain Regard: Lukas DhontGirl
Directors’ Fortnight/Critics’ Week: Zsófa SzilagyiOne Day


First Prize: Diego Céspedes – The Summer of the Electric Lion
Second Prize — TIE: Igor Poplauhin – Calendar AND Shen DiThe Storms in Our Blood
Third Prize: Lucia BulgheroniInanimate

Related Posts

Related Articles

Latest Videos

Loading RSS Feed