The Winners at the 72nd Cannes Film Festival

May 27, 2019

For 12 days, the 72nd edition of the Festival de Cannes has celebrated artists and films from different perspectives, making cinema a celebration of discovery and reunions shared all around the world. Tonight, on the stage of the Grand Théâtre Lumière, Édouard Baer, the Master of Ceremonies, welcomed the Feature Films Jury headed by Alejandro Gonzalez Iñárritu to announce the 2019 Awards.

Read on to find out all the award winners…

Catherine Deneuve with Bong Joon-Ho – Gisaengchung (Parasite), Palme d’Or © Gareth Cattermole / Getty Images

Feature Films

Palme D’Or (awarded by Catherine Deneuve): Parasite directed by BONG Joon-Ho
Grand Prix (awarded by Sylvester Stallone): Atlantics directed by Mati DIOP
Best Director (awarded by Viggo Mortensen): Jean-Pierre & Luc DARDENNEYoung Ahmed
Jury Prize
(awarded by Michael Moore): TIED – Les Miserables directed by Ladj LY and Bacurau directed by Kleber MENDONÇA FILHO & Juliano DORNELLES
Best Performance by an Actor (awarded by Zhang Ziyi): Antonio BANDERASDolor Y Gloria
Best Performance by an Actress (awarded by Reda Kateb): Emily BEECHAMLittle Joe
Best Screenplay
(awarded by Gael García Bernal): Céline SCIAMMAPortrait of Lady On Fire
Special Mention (awarded by Chiara Mastroianni): Elia SULEIMANIt Must Be Heaven


Short Films Palme D’Or: Vasilis KEKATOSThe Distance Between Us And The Sky
Short Films Special Distinction by the Jury: Agustina SAN MARTÍNMonstruo Dios
Camera d’Or: César DÍAZOur Mothers
Golden Eye Documentary Prize: TBA
Ecumenical Jury Prize: Nadine LabakiCapernaum
Ecumenical Jury Special Mention: Spike LeeBlacKkKlansman
Queer Palm: Lukas DhontGirl

Un Certain Regard

Un Certain Regard Award: Karim AÏNOUZThe Invisible Life of Euridice Gusmao
Jury Prize: Oliver LAXE – Fire Will Come
Best Performance: Chiara MASTROIANNI
On a Magical Night
Best Director: Kantemir BALAGOV
Special Jury Prize: Albert SERRALiberte
Jury’s Coup de CœurMonia CHOKRI – A Brother’s Love & Michael Angelo COVINO – The Climb
Jury Special Mention: Bruno DUMONT – Joan Of Arc


First Prize: Louise COURVOISIERMano A Mano
Second Prize — Richard VANHieu
Third Prize: Wisam AL JAFARIAmbience & Barbara RUPIK – The Little Soul

Related Posts

Related Articles

Latest Videos

Loading RSS Feed