Nominees Announced for IMAGO International Awards for Cinematography

Feb 13, 2019
Proud Award winners, the IMAGO Award sponsor partners and the IMAGO Award organizing team on stage. Photo: Alejandro Lorenzo

The nominees have been announced for the second IMAGO Awards ceremony, which will take place in Belgrade, Serbia on 16th March 2019, with Roger Deakins CBE BSC ASC aiming for yet another trophy for his work on Blade Runner 2049.

Having garnered Oscar, ASC, BSC and BAFTA accolades last year, Deakins will be one of five nominees for the ‘Feature Film’ award – presented by Zeiss, and looking to follow Seamus McGarvey BSC and Nocturnal Animals who triumphed at the first IMAGO awards in Helsinki in October 2017. Also chosen for the award are current Awards season choice and 2019 Oscar contender, The Favourite – DPed by Robbie Ryan BSC ISC; Lion by Greig Fraser ACS ASC – already an ASC and Camerimage Golden Frog winner; The Eternal Road from Finn Rauno Ronkainen FSC; and Mathilde – lit by the Russian Yuriy Klimenko.

The list of award nominees are as follows:

Best Cinematography for FEATURE FILM

Cinematographer: Greig Fraser ACS ASC – Australia – for Lion
Cinematographer: Rauno Ronkainen FSC – Finland – for The Eternal Road
Cinematographer: Robbie Ryan BSC ISC – Ireland – for The Favourite
Cinematographer: Roger Deakins CBE ASC BSC – United Kingdom – for Blade Runner 2049
Cinematographer: Yuriy Klimenko – Russia – for Mathilde
This Award is presented by Zeiss


Best Cinematography for DOCUMENTARY FILM

Cinematographer: Adolpho Veloso ABC – Brazil – for On Yoga: The Architecture of Peace
Cinematographer: Juan Sarmiento ADFC – Colombia – for Central Airport THF
Cinematographer: Heikki Färm FSC – Finland – for Entrepreneur
This Award is presented by CVP


Best Cinematography for TELEVISION DRAMA

Cinematographer: András Nagy HSC – Hungary – for Eternal Winter
Cinematographer: Brendan Steacy ASC – Canada – for Alias Grace
Cinematographer: Thomas W. Kiennast AAC – Austria – for Maximilian
This Award is presented by SONY



The winner will be known on Sunday 16th February on the imago website

Cinematographer: Arda Yildiran Turkey GYD – for The Pigeon
Cinematographer: Artem Emelianov Russia RGC – for Closeness
Cinematographer: Dino Osmanovic Bosnia-Herzegovina ASBH – for Kreatura
Cinematographer: Jurgis Kmins Latvia LGC – for Bille
Cinematographer: Miksa Andjelic Serbia SAS – for The Witch Hunters
Cinematographer: Zenn Van Zyl South Africa SASC – for The Story of Ellen Pakkies
This Award is presented by ARRI


Best Cinematography for STUDENT FILM

The winner will be known on Sunday 16th February on the imago website

Cinematographer: Andi Widmer – for Percht (Film Academy Vienna MDW University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna, Austria AAC)
Cinematographer: Balázs István Balázs – for Casting (University of Theatre and Film Arts, Hungary, Budapest, Hungary HSC)
Cinematographer: Igor Lazic – for On my own (FDU/Fakultet dramskih umetnosti in Belgrade, Serbia, Serbia SAS)
Cinematographer: Nea Asphäll – for Get ready with me (Stockholm university of the arts (STDH), Sweden, FSF)
Cinematographer: Nikita Poznyanski – for Petersburg Noir (VGIK, Russia RGC)
Cinematographer: Rok Kajzer Nagode – for What remains (Academy of theatre, Radio, Film and Television, Ljubljana, Slovenia, Slovenia ZFS)
This Award is presented by KODAK


Special Recognition Awards – announced soon

The IMAGO International Honorary Member´s Award
The IMAGO International Award for Extraordinary Technical Achievement
The IMAGO International Award for Extraordinary Contribution to the Art of Cinematography
The Imago International Award for Outstanding Achievement in Advancing Cinematography
The IMAGO International Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cinematography – presented by ARRI


Related Posts

Related Articles

Latest Videos

Loading RSS Feed