As VP techniques and technology continue to progress at an incredible pace there’s plenty to explore in Focus On: Virtual Production II from British Cinematographer.

Ula Pontikos BSC & Paul Ozgur NSC win 2022 Sue Gibson Awards

Oct 17, 2022
Ula Pontikos BSC

Cinematographer Ula Pontikos BSC has won the National Film and Television School (NFTS)’s Sue Gibson BSC Award for cinematography, for her work on the Netflix TV show Russian Doll.

NFTS alumna Ula Pontikos is the sixth winner of the annual competition joining previous winners including Sir Roger Deakins, Charlotte Bruus Christensen and Jakob Ihre. 

The award was established in memory of NFTS alumna, Sue Gibson, who was the first woman to be invited to become a member of the British Society of Cinematographers (BSC) and was elected its first female President. 

Pontikos commented on hearing the news: “Sue Gibson was a trailblazer and so I’m thrilled that NFTS has founded the award in her name. This is a very important award to me as I truly admired Sue as a colleague and a teacher. Thank you so much for all who voted for Russian Doll, it is such an honour to be recognised by your peers in this way.”

Ula was recently nominated for a Primetime Emmy for her photography of Russian Doll and recently wrapped Three Women starring Shailene Woodley for Showtime. 

In addition to Pontikos, alumnus Paul Kadir Özgür NSC was named the winner of the Music Video/Commercial category for his work on Penny – The Wish, beating stiff competition from Edu Grau and Carlos Catalan. Paul commented: “I’m thrilled to have been chosen by fellow NFTS alumni to receive this award. The Wish was a great project to work on and I’m delighted it’s been honoured in this way. I also want to pay tribute to Sue Gibson, the guidance she gave me I still use on set to this day”

Jon Wardle, director of the National Film and Television School said: “I’d like to extend my personal congratulations to both Ula and Paul. The range of work displayed by the Cinematography alumni each year is always so impressive and inspiring to the current Cinematography students. Congratulations once again Ula and Paul”.

The awards will presented at a date later this year. 

Related Posts

Related Articles

Latest Videos

Loading RSS Feed