Triangle of Sadness triumphs at European Film Awards

Dec 12, 2022
European Film Awards 2022: The winners on stage at Harpa concert hall in Reykjavík. Photo: Sebastian Gabsch

The European Film Awards celebrated their 35th edition of Europe’s most prestigious and renowned award honouring the best of European cinema. The winners were being revealed during the grand gala show at Reykjavík’s Harpa concert hall in front of 1,250 international guests. With four awards Triangle of Sadness was the big winner of the night. The award show is the dazzling highlight of the European Film Academy’s newly launched initiative Month of European Film that kicked off four weeks earlier.

The winners of the European Film Awards 2022 are:

European Film
TRIANGLE OF SADNESS directed by Ruben Östlund, produced by Erik Hemmendorff & Philippe Bober (Sweden/ Germany/ France/ United Kingdom)

European Documentary
MARIUPOLIS 2 directed by Mantas Kvedaravičius (Lithuania/ France/ Germany)

European Director
Ruben Östlund for TRIANGLE OF SADNESS 

European Actress
Vicky Krieps in CORSAGE 

European Actor

European Screenwriter
Ruben Östlund for TRIANGLE OF SADNESS 

European Discovery – Prix FIPRESCI
This award is presented in co-operation with FIPRESCI, the International Federation of Film Critics to a director for a first full-length feature film.
SMALL BODY (PICCOLO CORPO) directed by Laura Samani (Italy/ Slovenia/ France)

European Comedy:
THE GOOD BOSS (EL BUEN PATRÓN) directed by Fernando León de Aranoa (Spain)

European Animated Feature Film:
NO DOGS OR ITALIANS ALLOWED (INTERDIT AUX CHIENS ET AUX ITALIENS) directed by Alain Ughetto (France, Italy, Belgium, Switzerland, Portugal)

European Short Film:
GRANNY’S SEXUAL LIFE (BABIČINO SEKSUALNO ŽIVLJENJE) directed by Urška Djukić & Émilie Pigeard (Slovenia, France)

The winners of the Excellence Awards in the categories ‘European Cinematography’, ‘Editing’, ‘Production Design’, ‘Costume Design’, ‘Make-up & Hair’, ‘Original Score’, ‘Sound’ and ‘Visual Effects’ as well as the winners of the ‘European Lifetime Achievement’, the ‘European Achievement in World Cinema’, the ‘European Innovative Storytelling’, the newly introduced ‘European Sustainability Award – Prix Film4Climate’, the ‘Eurimages Co-Production Award’, the ‘European University Award (EUFA)’ and the ‘Young Audience Award’ have already been announced earlier and were honoured in Reykjavík. See the full list here.

Related Posts

Related Articles