73rd Emmy Award winners announced

September 20, 2021

The Television Academy celebrated the 73rd Emmy Awards, recognising excellence in primetime programming and individual achievement for the 2020-2021 television season.

The 73rd Emmy Awards were broadcast live from L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles on the CBS Television Network, hosted by Cedric The Entertainer and produced by Done+Dusted and Hudlin Entertainment. The telecast featured awards in 27 Emmy categories, plus the Governors Award, presented by top talent from some of television’s most acclaimed programs.

Presenters and surprise guests included Uzo Aduba, Paulina Alexis, Anthony Anderson, Annaleigh Ashford, Awkwafina, Angela Bassett, Adrien Brody, Aidy Bryant, Sophia Bush, Stephen Colbert, Jennifer Coolidge, Misty Copeland, Kaley Cuoco, Michael Douglas, Ava DuVernay, Lane Factor, Beanie Feldstein, Allyson Felix, America Ferrera, Sterlin Harjo, Taraji P. Henson, Gayle King, LL COOL J, Devery Jacobs, Ken Jeong, Mindy Kaling, Daniel Dae Kim, Vanessa Lachey, Dan Levy, Eugene Levy, Jessica Long, Annie Murphy, Catherine O’Hara, Dolly Parton, Sarah Paulson, Jada Pinkett-Smith, Amy Poehler, Ellen Pompeo, Billy Porter, Michaela Jaé (Mj) Rodriguez, Seth Rogen, Tracee Ellis Ross, Yara Shahidi, Patrick Stewart, Wilmer Valderrama, Kerry Washington, Rita Wilson, D’Pharaoh Woon-A-Tai, Bowen Yang and Catherine Zeta-Jones.

GRAMMY-winning artist Leon Bridges and Academy Award-winning artist Jon Batiste performed a special “In Memoriam” song. Additionally, Emmys were awarded in 92 other categories at the Creative Arts Emmy Awards during three ceremonies the weekend of Saturday, Sept. 11, and Sunday, Sept. 12, followed by an edited broadcast of the Creative Arts ceremonies on Saturday, Sept. 18, on FXX.

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Comedy Series

Hannah Waddingham As Rebecca Welton

Ted Lasso (Apple TV+)

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Comedy Series

Brett Goldstein As Roy Kent

Ted Lasso (Apple TV+)

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie

Julianne Nicholson As Lori Ross

Mare Of Easttown (HBO)

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie

Evan Peters As Detective Colin Zabel

Mare of Easttown (HBO)

Outstanding Writing For A Drama Series

Peter Morgan, Written By

The Crown, ‘War’ (Netflix)

Outstanding Directing For A Drama Series

Jessica Hobbs, Directed By

The Crown, ‘War’ (Netflix)

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Drama Series

Gillian Anderson As Margaret Thatcher

The Crown (Netflix)

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Drama Series

Tobias Menzies As Prince Philip, Duke Of Edinburgh

The Crown (Netflix)

Outstanding Writing For A Variety Series

Johnathan Appel, Writer

Ali Barthwell, Writer

Tim Carvell, Writer

Liz Hynes, Writer

Greg Iwinski, Writer

Mark Kramer, Writer

Daniel O’brien, Writer

John Oliver, Writer

Owen Parsons, Writer

Charlie Redd, Writer

Joanna Rothkopf, Writer

Chrissy Shackelford, Writer

Ben Silva, Writer

Seena Vali, Writer

Last Week Tonight With John Oliver (HBO)

Outstanding Variety Talk Series

Last Week Tonight With John Oliver (HBO)

John Oliver, Executive Producer/Host

Tim Carvell, Executive Producer

Liz Stanton, Executive Producer

Jeremy Tchaban, Co-Executive Producer

Christopher Werner, Supervising Producer

Laura L. Griffin, Producer

Kate Mullaney, Producer

Catherine Owens, Producer

Matt Passet, Producer

Marian Wang, Producer

Charles Wilson, Producer

Outstanding Variety Sketch Series

Saturday Night Live (NBC)

Lorne Michaels, Executive Producer

Steve Higgins, Produced By

Ken Aymong, Supervising Producer

Lindsay Shookus, Producer

Erin Doyle, Producer

Tom Broecker, Producer

Caroline Maroney, Producer

Erik Kenward, Produced By

Outstanding Writing For A Comedy Series

Lucia Aniello, Written By

Paul W. Downs, Written By

Jen Statsky, Written By

Hacks, ‘There Is No Line (Pilot)’ (HBO Max)

Outstanding Directing For A Comedy Series

Lucia Aniello, Directed By

Hacks, ‘There Is No Line (Pilot)’ (HBO Max)

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Comedy Series

Jean Smart As Deborah Vance

Hacks (HBO Max)

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Comedy Series

Jason Sudeikis As Ted Lasso

Ted Lasso ( Apple TV+)

Outstanding Competition Program

Rupaul’s Drag Race (VH1)

Fenton Bailey, Executive Producer

Randy Barbato, Executive Producer

Tom Campbell, Executive Producer

Rupaul Charles, Executive Producer

Steven Corfe, Executive Producer

Mandy Salangsang, Executive Producer

Michele Mills, Executive Producer

Tim Palazzola, Executive Producer

Thairin Smothers, Senior Producer

John Polly, Co-Executive Producer

Zoe Jackson, Co-Executive Producer

Lisa Steele, Co-Executive Producer

Camilo Valdes, Co-Executive Producer

Michelle Visage, Producer

Alicia Gargaro-Magana, Producer

Jen Passovoy, Supervising Producer

Outstanding Directing For A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie

Scott Frank, Directed By

The Queen’s Gambit (Netflix)

Outstanding Writing For A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie

Michaela Coel, Written By

I May Destroy You

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie

Kate Winslet As Mare Sheehan

Mare Of Easttown (HBO)

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Limited Or Anthology Series Or Movie

Ewan Mcgregor As Halston

Halston (Netflix)

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Drama Series

Olivia Colman As Queen Elizabeth II

The Crown (Netflix)

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Drama Series

Josh O’connor As Prince Charles

The Crown (Netflix)

Outstanding Variety Special (Live)

Stephen Colbert’s Election Night 2020: Democracy’s Last Stand Building Back America Great Again Better 2020 (Showtime)

Stephen T. Colbert, Executive Producer/Host

Chris Licht, Executive Producer

Tom Purcell, Executive Producer

Jon Stewart, Executive Producer

Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Co-Executive Producer

Barry Julien, Co-Executive Producer

Opus Moreschi, Co-Executive Producer

Denise Rehrig, Co-Executive Producer

Aaron Cohen, Supervising Producer

Paul Dinello, Supervising Producer

Emily Gertler, Supervising Producer

Jay Katsir, Supervising Producer

Matt Lappin, Supervising Producer

Bjoern Stejskal, Supervising Producer

Sara Vilkomerson, Supervising Producer

Ballard C. Boyd, Producer

Michael Brumm, Producer

Gabe Gronli, Producer

Paige Kendig, Producer

Jake Plunkett, Producer

Adam Wager, Producer

Outstanding Variety Special (Pre-Recorded)

Hamilton (Disney+)

Sander Jacobs, Executive Producer

Jill Furman, Executive Producer

Maggie Brohn, Executive Producer

Jon Kamen, Co-Executive Producer

Dave Sirulnick, Co-Executive Producer

Justin Wilkes, Co-Executive Producer

Thomas Kail, Produced By

Lin-Manuel Miranda, Produced By

Jeffrey Seller, Produced By

Outstanding Comedy Series

Ted Lasso (Apple TV+)

Bill Lawrence, Executive Producer

Jason Sudeikis, Executive Producer

Jeff Ingold, Executive Producer

Bill Wrubel, Executive Producer

Liza Katzer, Co-Executive Producer

Jane Becker, Supervising Producer

Jamie Lee, Supervising Producer

Kip Kroeger, Supervising Producer

Brendan Hunt, Producer

Tina Pawlik, Produced By

Joe Kelly, Consulting Producer

Outstanding Drama Series

The Crown (Netflix)

Peter Morgan, Executive Producer

Suzanne Mackie, Executive Producer Stephen Daldry, Executive Producer

Andy Harries, Executive Producer

Benjamin Caron, Executive Producer

Matthew Byam Shaw, Executive Producer

Robert Fox, Executive Producer

Michael Casey, Producer

Andy Stebbing, Producer

Martin Harrison, Producer

Oona O Beirn, Producer

Outstanding Limited Or Anthology Series

The Queen’s Gambit (Netflix)

William Horberg, Executive Producer

Allan Scott, Executive Producer

Scott Frank, Executive Producer

Mick Aniceto, Producer

Marcus Loges, Produced By

Related Posts


Related Articles

Latest Videos

Loading RSS Feed